Superintendent Tony Thurmond Announces Winners of the 2019-2020 Civic Learning Awards

California Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond has announced the winners of this year’s Civic Learning Awards. The awards recognize “the important role of public schools in preparing students for participation in our democracy,” according to the California Department of Education’s website. They were co-sponsored by Thurmond and Chief Justice of California Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye.

“These schools engage students in civic learning through strong civics curriculum in school and service-learning projects in their communities,” according to a CDE press release. “The awards are designed to both celebrate successful efforts to engage students in civic learning and to identify successful models that can be replicated in other schools.”

Applications were due in January and reviewed by a committee of representatives from the California Department of Education, members of the judicial branch, and other prominent businesspeople and education leaders.

The highest awards—the Awards of Excellence—were given to La Costa Heights Elementary School in San Diego County, South Junior High School in Orange County, and Savanna High School in Orange County.

Six more schools received the Award of Distinction:

  • Park Dale Lane Elementary, San Diego County
  • San Marino Elementary, Orange County
  • Natomas Pacific Pathways Prep Middle/High School Charter, Sacramento County
  • Walker Junior High, Orange County
  • Pacific High School, San Bernardino County
  • Loara High School, Orange County

In all, 75 schools were honored. See the full list here