37 California Continuation High Schools Recognized for Their Exemplary Performance

Thirty-seven schools have been recognized as Model Continuation High Schools by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond and the California Department of Education.

Continuation high schools serve students ages 16-18 who are at risk of not completing their education. There are over 430 in the state of California.

The CDE praised the 37 model schools for their “exemplary instructional strategies, flexible scheduling, and guidance and counseling services” for at-risk youth.

“Congratulations to these wonderful schools for their all-around excellence as alternative centers of learning,” said Thurmond. “They provide invaluable resources and academic opportunities for students and their families across our state. The efforts of teachers and administrators at our Model Continuation High Schools provide students with the social support and goal-setting skills that they need to succeed in the academic setting and in their lives after high school.”

The 37 schools are:

  • Abraxas High School, Poway Unified School District, San Diego County
  • Alessandro High School, Hemet Unified School District, Riverside County
  • Alta Vista High School, Vista Unified School District, San Diego County
  • Amistad High School, Desert Sands Unified School District, Riverside County
  • Black Rock High School, Morongo Unified School District, San Bernardino County
  • Boynton High School, Campbell Union High School District, Santa Clara County
  • Buena Vista Continuation High School, Chino Valley Unified School District, San Bernardino County
  • Buena Vista High School, Paramount Unified School District, Los Angeles County
  • Citrus Continuation High School, Fontana Unified School District, San Bernardino County
  • Citrus High School, Porterville Unified School District, Tulare County
  • Coronado High (Continuation), West Covina Unified School District, Los Angeles County
  • DeWolf High School, Fresno Unified School District, Fresno County
  • Discovery High School, Natomas Unified School District, Sacramento County
  • Donald C. Jamison Continuation High School, Lemoore Union High School District, Kings County
  • Fairvalley High School, Covina-Valley Unified School District, Los Angeles County
  • Fernando R. Ledesma High School, El Monte Union High School District, Los Angeles County
  • Gilbert High School, Anaheim Union High School District, Orange County
  • Glen View High School, Beaumont Unified School District, Riverside County
  • Hillside High School, Upland Unified School District, San Bernardino County
  • Jereann Bowman High School, William S. Hart Union High School District, Los Angeles County
  • John J. Cairns Continuation High School, Lindsay Unified School District, Tulare County
  • Kurt T. Shery High School, Torrance Unified School District, Los Angeles County
  • Mt. San Jacinto High School, Palm Springs Unified School District, Riverside County
  • North Park High School, Baldwin Park Unified School District, Los Angeles County
  • Orangewood High School, Redlands Unified School District, San Bernardino County
  • Ortega High School, Lake Elsinore Unified School District, Riverside County
  • Palomar High School, Sweetwater Union High School District, San Diego County
  • Phoenix Continuation High School, Los Angeles Unified School District, Los Angeles County
  • Prospect High School, Mt. Diablo Unified School District, Contra Costa County
  • Robertson High School, Fremont Unified School District, Alameda County
  • Santana High School, Rowland Unified School District, Los Angeles County
  • Sierra Continuation High School, Tahoe-Truckee Unified School District, Placer County
  • Tierra Del Sol Continuation High School, Kern High School District, Kern County
  • Twin Oaks High School, San Marcos Unified School District, San Diego County
  • Vail High School, Montebello Unified School District, Los Angeles County
  • Val Verde High School, Val Verde Unified School District, Riverside County
  • Valley High School, Escondido Union High School District, San Diego County